Be Intentional

image[3]The best part about starting my second year as an administrator is the chance to improve on things that didn’t go so well last year!

I definitely think we had a great year here at Timberview Middle School, but there’s always room for improvement!  I’m think my most common statement was, “I can’t wait to do that better next year!”  And so here we are!  Year two is off and running!  And I’m ready to do things better!  Here are five of my goals:

  1. Learn more student names!
  2. Spend more time in classrooms.
  3. Be a better organizer of my time.
  4. Write weekly notes of encouragement, praise, and thanks to staff members.
  5. Make at least one person’s day better every day!

Becoming Intentional

Good goals, don’t you think?  There’s one problem, though.  If I’m not intentional about them, they will simply become words in a blog.  Year two will end and I’ll say the same thing…“I can’t wait to do that better next year!”  So how can I be intentional with my goals?

Intentionally write them down

By writing my goals down (in this blog, on my desktop, tacked to my bulletin board, etc.) I am constantly reminded of the things I think are most important.  I can’t hide from my goals – they are everywhere!

Intentionally schedule time in my week

By placing these items in my weekly calendar, I’m more likely to complete the tasks.  I have an awesome assistant, and she has scheduled specific time in my week for me to observe classes, write notes to staff, etc.

Intentionally tell everyone!

By telling my friends, family, and colleagues about my goals, they can help hold me accountable.  If my principal knows that my goal is to write more notes of encouragement, and I’m not doing that very well, I know that she’ll gently remind me of my goal!

Game On!

Good luck to all of my friends and colleagues who are beginning another exciting year as teachers, administrators, parents, etc.  Set some amazing goals…and be intentional!

“If you don’t know where you are going, you’ll end up someplace else.” – Yogi Berra

 

 

One thought on “Be Intentional

  1. Excellent goals! If you get the name learning one down, make your next goal teaching me! 🙂
    Looking forward to seeing you achieve these, and I’m more than happy to provide gentle reminders whenever you need them!
    It’s going to be a great year!

Leave a Reply

